Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip Photos, Review, Swatches
Beauty, Makeup, Pantone, Reviews

COLOURPOP ULTRA MATTE LIP PHOTOS, REVIEW, SWATCHES

Today I’m chatting about my latest beauty obsession — the new Ultra Matte Lips from Colourpop! Currently there are 33 shades available, and I decided to pick up 10 from the range to try out. Colourpop’s Ultra Matte Lips retail at $6.00 USD for 0.11 oz., just a fraction of the cost of their high-end counterparts. Lately, it seems like every brand is coming out with their version of a liquid lipstick, and I’m generally a fan of liquid lipstick formulas — they dry to a flat matte finish and are super long wearing. If you’re a lipstick lover (or want to learn more about liquid lipstick) this post is for you! I also have a review of 10 shades from the Ultra Satin Lip range.


Product Overview

These are the driest liquid lipstick’s I’ve used — it you want a 100% matte, super long wearing lip colour, you’ll love these. If you don’t like traditional matte lipsticks because they’re too drying, you’ll probably hate these. Personally, I love them! On the lips, they feel weightless and even a bit powdery, but there is absolutely no moisture in this formula. If you do find them too drying, you can always add their Lippie Primer underneath, or a gloss on top. The formula reminds of Limecrime’s liquid lipsticks — it’s a very thin, watery formula that glides on smoothly with intense pigmentation. But you have to work fast because they dry within 30 seconds, and it’s best to get an even application in one go, rather than trying to layer. They have no taste or scent.

The packaging feels substantial and high-end. The doe foot applicator seems a little bit stiff compared to other brands I’ve tried, but that’s a minor detail. It works well to apply product to the lips.

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com

These wear about 8 – 10 hours on me, and last really well through eating and drinking. They start to wear off in the corners and the center of my lip first, around the 6 hours mark, but you can definitely retouch.

If you’re interested in trying liquid lipstick, or you’re looking to expand your collection, I say pick some up! The quality of the product is amazing and the wear time is fantastic, especially compared to high-end liquid lipsticks, which can run you anywhere from $15 – $30 each.

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com


Application & Removal

With a product like this, good lip prep is essential. What I like to do is put on a super thick lip moisturizer (my favourites are the Aquaphor Healing Ointment or My Favorite Night Balm) before I start my makeup. I apply my foundation and base first, and then once I’m ready to move onto the lips, I remove the lip moisturizer with a q-tip fully, make sure my lips are dry, then apply the liquid lipstick. This ensures your lips are moisturized, smooth and freshly exfoliated — and ready for lip product!

To get these babies off, you’ll need a good oil, or oil based cleanser.  I use Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil. When I wash my makeup off, the first thing I do is apply some jojoba oil to my palm, then pick it up with my fingers and massage it into my lips, until I see all the colour come off. Then, I go about the rest of my evening skincare routine. In fact, they’re so long wearing that after I was finished photographing the swatches on my arm, I scrubbed at them with jojoba oil, and my cleanser, and there were still traces of them left.


Shade Range

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com

Currently there are 33 shades available, and I own 10. They just released 8 new shades last week, so I assume they’ll continue to expand the range. I picked out shades that I don’t have anything similar to in other liquid lipstick formulas, and I usually gravitate towards warmer colours (since that’s what looks best on my skintone). I did pick up a few colours totally outside of my comfort zone, too! They have a wide range of colours available (even some greens and blues), so you’ll definitely be able to find colours you like. Overall I think the nudes lean a bit cool toned — they’re not what I would usually try, but I like them because they’re different. One thing I found true for all shades is that they look lighter in the tube than they do on your lips once they’re fully dry.

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com

The other thing I like to do with these is mix shades. Sometimes I like to pop a lighter shade in the centre of my lips to make them look bigger, or mix shades together to create a custom shade, and apply it with a lip brush. On the weekend, I mixed Pacific with Solow, and it made a nice bright peach.


COLOURPOP ULTRA MATTE LIP SWATCHES


Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Midi

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Midi Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com

Colourpop describes this as a ‘soft neutral beige’. It’s the second to lightest shade in the range, and it’s definitely the most nude I would go. On me, it has it’s a cool, greyed pink nude. I think this one would be more wearable for me with a darker lip liner.

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Midi Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com


Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Trap

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Trap Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com

Colourpop describes this as a ‘dusty greyed out beige (β€œgreige”)’ — that’s definitely accurate. Trap is a stoney grey taupe shade, with a bit of lilac in it. This is such a unique colour, very on trend, and I’m surprised how much I love it. It goes perfectly with their lip pencil in Tootsie (which I’m also wearing in this photo).

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Trap Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com


Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Donut

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Donut Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com

Colourpop describes this as a ‘bright peach’. On me this colour is more of a warm bright pink, but it does have some peach it in. It’s quite bright, especially in person — a neon pastel shade.

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Donut Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com


Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Solow

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Solow Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com

Colourpop describes this as a ‘neutral nude pink’, and I think that’s accurate. On me, it pulls slightly cool, but I really love this colour as an every day pinky nude shade. It also mixes really well with the other colours.

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Solow Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com


Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Bumble

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Bumble Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com

Colourpop describes this as a ‘dusty warm terracotta’. It’s a mid-tone warm pinky brown — definitely in the marsala colour family, which is super trendy right now. This is one of my favourites, and a perfect everyday fall shade.

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Bumble Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com


Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Tulle

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Tulle Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com

Colourpop describes this as a ‘dusty mauve burgundy’. This one is so much darker on my lips that it looks in the tube — and I feel like it’s even darker in person! It’s a beautiful, very deep, vampy burgundy — along the lines of Limecrime’s Salem (which is a straight-up chocolate brown), but more red-based. Another great fall colour, and one of my favourites.

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Tulle Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com


Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Pacific

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Pacific Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com

Colourpop describes this as a ‘true bright orange’ — that’s how I’d describe it too. It’s a super fun summer colour, and I think the shade is particularly flattering on medium / tanned skin.

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Pacific Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com


Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Ouiji

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Ouiji Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com

Colourpop describes this as a ‘bright coral red’ — I think it’s more of a watermelon shade. It’s in the coral spectrum, but definitely leans more pink than orange. I was surprised how much I liked this one, it’s definitely bright, but very wearable and flattering. I think it would suit a wide variety of skintones as well.

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Ouiji Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com


Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Succulent

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Succulent Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com

Colourpop describes this as a ‘electric neon orange red’. On me, it’s a bright orange-based red, which are my favourite reds to wear. This is the first shade tried on when I received them, and I think it’s one of the prettiest colours in the range. This is a universally flattering red that makes your teeth look really white!

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Succulent Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com


Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Drive In

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Drive In Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com

Colourpop describes this as a ‘mid-tone bright magenta’ — to me, it’s a warm toned fuchsia purple. If you’ve never tried a purple lipstick and are wondering if they’re for you, I’d try Drive In! It’s strangely wearable, and it’s more on the pink side. I love this shade, I think purple lipsticks really flatter green eyes and light up the face. I always get lots of compliments when I wear purple lipstick!

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Drive In Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com


Keep in mind that lip colours look completely different on different skintones. For reference, I have light / medium skin with yellow-warm undertones — I’m a MAC NC 30.


LOOKING FOR MORE COLOURPOP REVIEWS & RECOMMENDATIONS?


Colourpop Ultra Satin Lip Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com

Colourpop Ultra Satin Lip Review (10 shades)

Colourpop Crème Gel Liner Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com

Colourpop Crème Gel Liner Review (9 shades)

The best of Colourpop Super Shock Shadows Photos, Review, Swatches

My Favourite Colourpop Super Shock Shadows (Multiple reviews)

The Best Colourpop Lippie Stix Photos, Review, Swatches

My Favourite Colourpop Lippie Stix (Multiple reviews)


Have you guys tried anything from Colourpop? What are your favourite products? They get a lot of love here on JustineCelina — I think they’re such an innovative brand. I’m consistently amazed by the quality of their products and they have such unique colours and formulas. If you end up ordering any of the Ultra Matte Lips, let me know how you like them (P.S. – use the code THANKSBABE for $5 off your first order )! If you haven’t tried them, what are your favourite liquid lipstick brands?

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip Photos, Review, Swatches // JustineCelina.com


Disclaimer: This post is not sponsored, and contains my genuine thoughts and recommendations. JustineCelina uses affiliate and referral links, which allow me to receive a small commission when you make a purchase through one of my links. Your purchases help to support JustineCelina.com!

Previous Post Next Post

You Might Also Like

46 Comments

  • Reply BEST IN BEAUTY | AUGUST – Justine Celina September 5, 2015 at 11:09 am

    […] recently reviewed 10 shades of the new Ultra Matte Lips, so if you’re interested for more information on the formula, wear time, etc, check that post […]

  • Reply Talia September 14, 2015 at 8:45 am

    Maybe it is just that I got a bad one…But, I bought the shades Midi and 1st Base to test out the formula before getting more. I looooooved the shade midi. Weightless, pigmented, not too drying, not sticky, no leathery weird feeling, no transfer, and no scent or taste. 1st base on the other hand had this really bad metallic taste and smell. It was very strong. Like the smell of a dirty penny or something. It was so bad I kept thinking that maybe I bit myself and was tasting blood. I love the color and formula. But this one is so nasty that now I am afraid to get more…I will contact Colourpop to see if they will replace it. Maybe this one went bad???

    • Reply Justine September 14, 2015 at 9:10 am

      Hey Talia, thanks for stopping by! I didn’t pick up the shade 1st Base, so I can’t comment on that shade in particular. I really love the shades I picked up, and they definitely don’t have any taste or scent, so what you’re describing seems very strange!

      I would definitely contact Colourpop if you’re not 100% happy with the product though, they have great customer service. I purchased the mini, double ended Lippie Stix / Liner combo pack around the holidays, and one of the liners broke — so I contacted customer service and they provided a coupon code that I could use with my next order to replace the liner, no questions asked. πŸ™‚

  • Reply The Pout Painters September 21, 2015 at 7:15 am

    I absolutely loved this post. Everything wa spot on and SO helpful. They all look beautiful one you. I loved your photography πŸ˜€ -Sadaf

    • Reply Justine September 21, 2015 at 7:43 am

      Thanks for the comment, Sadaf, I’m glad you found it helpful! Did you pick up any of the Ultra Matte Lips? How do you like them?

  • Reply BEST IN BEAUTY | NOVEMBER 2015 – Justine Celina December 5, 2015 at 10:46 am

    […] a fan of Colourpop’s Ultra Matte Lips (full review here). I initially picked up 10 shades when they launched the formula, and have been getting a lot of […]

  • Reply Briana Hut January 3, 2016 at 11:26 am

    Thanks for the review! I literally looked up “tulle dark” because your review on it is much like how it is on me! It is like, suuuuper dark, it’s like one shade lighter than LAX for me. I really wanted a lighter berry tone, I tried foundation to see if its just my tone of lips, but it really isn’t! I’m like a NC45 with black long hair so I really didn’t want to look dead haha! But it’s fine, it is a pretty color I just wished it looked more mauve like how it looks on EVERYONE that I’ve seen on YouTube(all different skin types).

    • Reply Justine January 3, 2016 at 11:34 am

      I’m glad you found it helpful, Briana! Isn’t it so interesting how it looks on different skintones? I’m about an NC 30 (maybe even an NC 25 now) and it’s SO dark on me! I still love the colour, but I only wear it when I want a super bold, vampy lip. If you want a lighter mauve, you can always try mixing a lighter pink, nude or even a mauve into it — I mix them all time time! πŸ™‚ They definitely have some more mauve tones out now with their newer releases, I’ve got my eye on Beeper and StingRAYE. Their newer releases are also a bit of a different formula (more mousy, and less drying!), I reviewed one of my favourite shades, Instigator, in my Best in Beauty | November post, if you’re interested!

  • Reply COLOURPOP CRÈME GEL LINER PHOTOS, REVIEW, SWATCHES - Justine Celina February 20, 2016 at 3:21 pm

    […] Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip Review (10 shades) […]

    • Reply Claudia July 17, 2016 at 5:35 pm

      The matte lipstick Trap is a nice colour. However, it lasts for 2 hours and it doesn’t stay long which is disappointing!!!

      • Reply Justine July 17, 2016 at 6:39 pm

        That’s too bad — it wears forever on me! Maybe you got a bad batch? Either way, Colourpop customer service is always helpful and happy to send replacement products or refunds!

  • Reply Agnes April 11, 2016 at 1:33 am

    Thank you for this review. Btw, how do you mix the shades?

    • Reply Justine April 11, 2016 at 8:28 am

      Hey Agnes! You’re welcome. I usually mix the 2 shades on a clean surface with a lip brush, and then apply the mixture to my lips with the same brush. Or, you can mix them right on your lips, too. If I want an ombre effect I apply one shade to the outer portion of my lips and apply a coordinating lighter shade to the inside. But you have to work quickly because they dry fast! Hope this was helpful. πŸ™‚

  • Reply 5 UNCONVENTIONAL SPRING LIP COLOURS - Justine Celina April 13, 2016 at 5:00 pm

    […] likes this shade. There’s something very sexy and understated about it! For a review of all the Colourpop Ultra Matte Lips I own, hop over to this post. Colourpop is my go-to brand for fun, inexpensive products that are top […]

  • Reply Daryl April 14, 2016 at 3:04 pm

    Thanks for sharing!!!

    • Reply Justine April 14, 2016 at 6:27 pm

      Of course! Are you planning to pick any shades up?

  • Reply COLOURPOP ULTRA SATIN LIP PHOTOS, REVIEW, SWATCHES - Justine Celina May 21, 2016 at 3:38 pm

    […] Last spring when their first line of liquid lipsticks launched, I loved them so much that I did a dedicated review post. And while I do still love the original Ultra Matte Lips, the liquid lipstick world has blown up […]

  • Reply Rae June 24, 2016 at 3:53 pm

    Thank you so much for this! Do you use a certain lip pencil for the ultra matte? It says on their site to pair with the matching lip pencil, but none of those shades have any (only their regular lippie sticks in their three finishes) so I was confused. They’re liquid, so I had assumed they would be fine on their own anyway πŸ™‚

    • Reply Justine June 24, 2016 at 6:01 pm

      Hey, Rae! Personally I use a lip liner most of the time — I like the method of outlining and slightly overdrawing my lips, then ‘colouring inside the lines’ with the Ultra Matte Lip. It makes for a cleaner application. However, you’re right that these are totally fine without a lip liner — it just may be more difficult to get a sharp edge. I do have coordinating lip liners for all these shades. I really love the Colourpop lip liners and own so many of them. My best advice would be to search their lip liners by colour and choose ones that match best, even if the names don’t match. If you’re stuck or need some lip liner recommendations for specific shades hit me up! πŸ™‚

      • Reply Rae June 25, 2016 at 6:09 pm

        Thanks! I definitely like lining cause I have a very thin upper lip, so I’m glad these do have matching lip pencils! I’m most interested in Donut and I think Ouji. When I search the site nothing comes up matching them specifically, so I’d love some recommendations! I want to get my hands on Dr. M too, which isn’t in this review, and some of their metallics as well. They’re so gorgeous!

        • Reply Justine June 25, 2016 at 8:32 pm

          Hey no problem! For Ouji you could try Fetch (may be a little light) or Punky (may be a tad dark), and for Donut I think any nude pink could work — my current favourite is the Politie Society Pencil (I mentioned it in my May Beauty Favourites of you’re looking for a swatch).

          Also, not to enable, but you should totally check out their Ultra Satin Lips. I like the formula a little better than the Ultra Matte and the colours are so stunning. I have a review on the 10 shades I own!

          Have a great weekend! πŸ™‚

          • Cookie July 7, 2016 at 3:48 pm

            what about a matching lipliner for Solow? I bought the lipstick but I would love to own a lipliner that would go well with it too! ;33

  • Reply Michelle June 29, 2016 at 9:13 am

    Hey Justine! Thanks for the great post. Would you recommend a certain liner to go with the Solow matte lip? Thanks!

    • Reply Justine June 29, 2016 at 9:21 am

      Hey Michelle! Of course — my current favourite lip liner from Colourpop is their new Polite Society liner! It would be a great colour match, plus it’s a really versatile shade that coordinates well with many nude and pink lipsticks. I reviews it in my latest monthly beauty favourites post with swatches if you’re interested. Have a great day!

  • Reply Charlotte August 1, 2016 at 6:25 pm

    I have really pale skin and I have no clue what to get? I have midi already but i think its a bit too dark for me. I want to have an everyday color.

  • Reply Jerrica rubinett August 10, 2016 at 4:33 pm

    Hi Justine! Thank you so much for your in depth review I found it very helpful! I see a lot of people who use the jeffreestar liquid lips and the Kat von d liquid lips as a winged eyeliner. Is it safe to do that with the colour pop liquid lipsticks? Just wondering! Xx

    • Reply Justine August 10, 2016 at 4:45 pm

      Hey Jessica! I’m not sure how safe it is and haven’t personally tried using any of these shades as eyeliner. It’s very important to only use ingredients around the eye area that are ‘eye safe’ and since ingredients vary greatly between shades, I’d advise you to contact Colourpop customer service and ask about any particular shade you’re interested in using as eyeliner. Their CS team is great and should be able to help you out!

  • Reply Sammi August 25, 2016 at 1:27 am

    OMG! This is such a great post! Just what I was looking for! Love it xx

    • Reply Justine August 25, 2016 at 8:10 am

      Hey Sammi — I’m glad it helped you out! Happy Friday. πŸ™‚

  • Reply Ianne September 6, 2016 at 8:32 pm

    super in love with this lippy:) tulle and trap are my favorite

    • Reply Justine September 6, 2016 at 11:15 pm

      Those are gorgeous shades — some of my favourite for fall!

  • Reply Athena Kris September 28, 2016 at 5:01 am

    Hello Justine thanks for a great post! Just wondering what liner you’d suggest for Bumble?

    • Reply Justine September 28, 2016 at 8:46 am

      Hey girl! Try the Lippie Liner in Brink with Bumble. I just swatched them on my hand and Brink is a little lighter and slightly more brown than Bumble, but I’ve worn them together before and they’re a great match. If you’re looking for something darker than Bumble, you can always try Lady Lippie Liner, but it’s quite a bit deeper. πŸ™‚

  • Reply 10 Must-Have Matte Lipsticks – PSLove October 4, 2016 at 10:49 pm

    […] Photo credits: Justine Celina […]

  • Reply 6 MARSALA LIPSTICKS TO TRY THIS FALL - JustineCelina November 27, 2016 at 11:46 am

    […] intense, warm, true Marsala. If you’ve never tried the Colourpop Ultra Matte Lips, head over here for my complete review of 10 shades. Bumble has been my go-to Marsala shade of choice lately — […]

  • Reply Bee December 5, 2016 at 2:50 am

    I love the ultra matte but I tried using lip gloss on top but it took the colour right off.. any suggestions for making the polish a bit shiny without stripping the colour?

    • Reply Justine December 5, 2016 at 8:56 am

      Hi Bee! I haven’t experienced that problem using a gloss on top, but you may have to do some experimenting to find one that works for you. My personal favourite is the C.O. Bigelow My Favorite Night Balm — it’s a thick, clear, glossy balm that I squeeze onto my finger and pat gently onto my lips when they need some extra hydration. I hope this is helpful!

  • Reply Bernadette Rayo December 27, 2016 at 6:59 am

    I got 5 shadea and i love em all. The only dilemma im having is that it stains around my lip and becomes messy at times. Any help? Nonetheless, I wana ordee 10.morw shades hoping to get discount using the code you provoded. πŸ™‚
    Or maybe I can get 20pcs or all shades πŸ™‚

    • Reply Justine December 27, 2016 at 10:36 am

      Hey Bernadette! You can always use a coordinating lip liner with the liquid lips to make them last a bit longer and prevent feathering — although that wasn’t a problem for me. You can also try applying their Lippie Primer underneath, as I mentioned above. That’s personally my favourite way to wear them! Thanks for stopping by — happy shopping!

  • Reply Rah December 28, 2016 at 2:31 am

    This post was so helpful and i really want to get some of the range but im not sure how many to start with. Should i get a few or only 1 or 2?

    • Reply Justine December 28, 2016 at 10:03 am

      I’m so glad you found the post helpful, Rah! Personally, I would start with a couple of shades to ensure I liked the formula if I was new to the range. Although it really depends on your preference and skintone, one of my personal favourite shades is Instigator (which I purchased after this post and reviewed here). I would also recommend checking out Colourpop’s Ultra Satin range, which I actually prefer to the Ultra Matte range. Perhaps you could purchase a couple shades from each formula range to see what you like best! Find my review of 10 shades from the Ultra Satin range here. Happy shopping!

  • Reply Marie Ibrahim February 6, 2017 at 10:26 pm

    What is the satin version of mink? Or the color that’s close to too lips since it has been discontinued??

    • Reply Justine February 6, 2017 at 10:40 pm

      Hi Marie! I did a quick search and see that Too Lips is still available! πŸ™‚

  • Reply angel February 18, 2017 at 9:37 pm

    Your review is very helpful! I tried one out which is more better Ultra Matte, It’s too dark for me. Any recommendation for a morena skin?

    • Reply Justine February 19, 2017 at 12:13 pm

      Hi Angel! Thanks for the comment — glad you found the review helpful. I’d be happy to recommend either some Ultra Matte or Ultra Satin shades I think would work on your skin tone. Are you looking for something that would be more nude?

    Leave a Reply